Barren: I-91

Barren: I-91

This is the view from one of the windows of the office buildings where I work. There’s the parking lot and a railroad track, with I-91 running above it’s grafitti covered overpass. This is urban barren. I prefer the barren of the reservoir and the branch: that is the barren of rest before be-birth. This will look much the same come spring.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Barren: I-91

  1. danudin says:

    I wasn’t aware that you worked in a Prison Block Bobbie – it would scare me.

    • Bobbie says:

      It’s not a prison block, but not far from it. The building is a concrete structure, the only office building in an industrial wasteland that is bordered by an area of Hartford that is simply not safe. The building is shared with Probation, so there are unsavory characters hanging around outside the fence. There have been shootings out in the street. I work for the State, and not all that long ago, there was a mass murder by a disgruntled employee in a State office building. Given that we deal with some people who are a bit unhinged and might be angry at us…well, it can be scary.

  2. Mike says:

    Ron, always the one for words…. anyway I love the sense of the scene here I feel like I’m sitting at your desk.

  3. John & Lois says:

    I also prefer the beauty of the barren branch to the inelegance of the parking lot/highway overpass. The two photos show a stark comparison of the theme.

  4. Tammy says:

    I think you need to be moved to a window w/ a better view…I am sure that would help your production! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Bobbie says:

      Would that I had a window with even that view! I work in a lightness, airless, soulless cubicle in the middle of the building. No window. That is the worst part of my job. I took that picture from the cube of a co-worker.

  5. I love the series and your approach to showing multiple interpretations of the same theme.

  6. I am not sure I would want to have this view every day but I do like the image. Industrial, rough and real.

  7. traceyjj says:

    I like the grungy look of this industrial barren ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Cathy says:

    Very powerful image of the less savoury aspects of our society I suppose. Well captured and I think about you when I sit in my office at home, watching the birds feed from our different feeders. It is freezing cold outside and a foot of snow, but we don’t have to worry about possibly dangerous people.

Leave a Reply

