Food: Mushroom “farm”

For Christmas, John gave me a mushroom “farm.” I’d been coveting them when we’d gone to Stew Leonard’s, so I was delighted to find one under the tree. It is supposed to yield 1 1/;2 pounds of oyster mushrooms. It took a bit of doing to jump-start it, but now the mushrooms are growing apace. They are literally doubling in size every day. I am going to have to come up with some good recipes by the weekend for sure! The company re-cycles coffee grounds from local cares as its substrate. AND if I post a photo of the mature “farm” on their FB page, they will donate a “farm” to the elementary classroom of my choice. I think Aidan’s class might enjoy this. Temps here in New England won’t be getting above freezing for the next week. I am delighted to be able to grow things indoors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Food: Mushroom “farm”

  1. jackscrap says:

    I love mushrooms, but these ones look like they could overtake your kitchen if you take your eye off them for more than a second.

  2. danudin says:

    Totally love these festooning Fungi, great image and many a good meal ahead!

  3. Cathy says:

    Super image and wow to get so many big mushrooms in your own kitchen.

  4. John & Lois says:

    Fantastic image. Very nice color and detail.

  5. gemma says:

    This is an awesome picture and a great idea. I just made the most delicious mushroom stroganoff – would have been great to add my own mushrooms

  6. Tammy says:

    Now that is fun! I want one now! Makes for cool pics too…it almost appears that the schrooms are floating!

  7. Judi Clark says:

    This borders on a fantasy image… neat! I am fascinated that these are growing in your house. Don’t let them get too big 🙂

  8. Ivor says:

    Beautifully photographed, very sharp. I want to have a go at growing mushrooms now but my wife tells me that I am not allowed to grow them in the wardrobe, which is where I suggested. 🙂 How did they taste?

  9. Bobbie says:

    I’ve harvested a few–they are almost crunchy in texture with a very full flavor. Dunno about growing them in a wardrobe, though…

  10. victry1 says:

    What a cool pic. It is a great closeup and I like your rich color and details. It shows up much better here than when I saw it on FB.

  11. Love the clarity and the color

  12. Very interesting gift! Really cool perspective too to show off the shape!

Leave a Reply

