Writing: Graffiti

Writing: Graffiti

Bold tagging on the cement below the I-91 overpass in Hartford.

Camera: iPhone 5

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Writing: Graffiti

  1. Tammy says:

    Love how you captured the tracks in front of it…really sets a mood!

  2. jackscrap says:

    I’m with Tammy, my eyes are drawn to the graffiti, but it’s those tracks that I keep coming back to, plus the fact that I am unable to decipher what’s been written, if anything.

  3. danudin says:

    I don’t like it as I have a train driver friend who cleaned up two idiots doing just that and he can’t drive trains anymore. And They are DEAD!

  4. John & Lois says:

    Wonderful composition with the rusty tracks in front of the tagging.

  5. Photographing graffiti art is a bit contentious in the UK as it is seen by some as encouraging vandalism. And, I do get Ron’s point too – it’s dangerous on railway lines and it ruins the lives of drivers when they hit people that are trespassing. But, that shows your photo is art which can be challenging, make us think and shake our aesthetic beliefs. The photo has a smashing composition and I am, as always, impressed with the iPhone’s picture quality.

    • bfcphotos says:

      This stretch of track is especially dangerous because there are no fences or gates. I cross over tracks three times on my way to work/ None has a gate that does down when train is coming, but tone of them, at least, has flashing warning lights. The other two do not. There’s a RR X-ING sign,but that’s it. Although I am very cautious, I was once almost hit, because the train comes from around these great cement walls which obscure one’s view of the tracks. There’s no stop sign there and no warning lights. This is right near a riverside park in Hartford. The trains run infrequently and on no particular schedule–they haul garbage to the trash-to-energy plant I believe, so one doesn’t anticipate them.

  6. The discussion of the tracks in your photo sent me to my books on composition and to re-read about the use of diagonal lines. Great capture.

  7. Judi Clark says:

    Nice take on the theme! I’m always taking away thoughts from what other people like about the picture… the use of the diagonal tracks in the front. I also like the tones of the tracks and the walls which really offset the graffiti.

Leave a Reply

