The Catholic Church requires that the Communion wafer be made from wheat. Communion is at the heart of the Catholic religion, and–despite the fact that I am an unabashed liberal and disagree with the Church on a good number of issues–being Catholic is part of my heart. So, when I found out, after a long miserable illness, in 2000 that I have celiac disease and can’t eat even the slightest trace of wheat, not being able to receive Communion was devastating for me. Then, a few years later, a wonderful group of nuns in Clyde, Missouri, developed a Communion wafer that was both acceptable to the Church AND safe for people with celiac disease. I still have to make sure that my host isn’t in contact with the regular hosts, so it’s put on the altar and then given to me in a pyx.–a special container for a consecrated host. The original cross on the top wore off, so I drew one with a Sharpie marker. Taken with the LensBaby Composer/Edge 80.