Sentimental Journey: “Gonna make a sentimental journey to renew old memories

This is Wolfgang the Rabbit. He was my very first toy. My parents were newly weds, excited at finding out they were expecting their first baby, when they bought him. They’d grown up together in tough circumstances in New York City. They started dating as teenagers and got married in October 1951, not long after my father graduated from college. Dad had joined the Army as a career and he was posted to Germany. My mother joined him a few months later, and I was born there in March 1953. They bought Wolfgang there. Wolfgang used to have a tiny handkerchief in the pocket of his green flannel pants. I loved that detail when I was little and kept it neatly tucked in; but it got lost somewhere along the way. Not long after I was born, my father had to retire from the Army when he developed diabetes. Wolfgang came home to NYC on the boat with us. He was a dear companion to me throughout my childhood. At sixty, he is a bit battered, but I love him still.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sentimental Journey: “Gonna make a sentimental journey to renew old memories

  1. danudin says:

    Great trip down memory lane.

  2. storki says:

    I love Wolfgang and your story. Where in Germany were you born? I am originally from Germany and met my husband there whilst he was posted near my home town with the British Army.

    • bfcphotos says:

      I was born in Augsburg. My parents (and I for a few months!) lived in Dillingen. I was only a few months old when we came back to the States. I was supposed to have been baptized in the cathedral in Augsburg (which has the oldest stained glass windows in Europe, I hear) but they decided it was too cold, so I was baptized in the apartment on the US Army base. Is that a bummer, or what?

  3. regularman says:

    Wolfgang’s looking great … and is very nicely lit.

  4. What a brilliant story behind that wonderful image. Do have dual nationality?

    • bfcphotos says:

      Ivor–I’m not sure. I was born in an American Army hospital; but I have a German birth certificate. The document I’ve had to use to establish my citizenship (when registering to vote and later to get a passport; even, if I remember, to adopt our children from Korea) is my Child born Abroad of American Parents paper. I’ve never looked into whether or not I have dual citizenship.

  5. Andy says:

    Nice shot and I love the story – I think it has inspired me for my theme this week!

  6. PC PHOTO says:

    Awww… thanks for sharing that sentimental journey and your first best friend. Love the photo.

  7. John & Lois says:

    Wolfgang takes a nice portrait! Great lighting.

  8. Pingback: 52 in 2014 Challenge – #2: Sentimental Journey | Visible History Photoblog

  9. Tammy says:

    Wolfgang is holding up well after all these years and all those journeys. Wonderful sentimental post….thanks for sharing!

  10. Zeria says:

    Love the lighting. The image works perfectly with your story.

  11. Wonderful story of a loved toy. I have a couple from my mother and father but unfortunately those that were mine are gone. I had a teddybear who had one arm totally fre of fur. Says that I Always carried it around in that arm

  12. KarenAnn says:

    Dear Wolfgang looks as though he is considering those beloved early times with you.

  13. Julia says:

    Great shot, and I love the story.

  14. Lovely lighting for Wolfgang. And a great story.

  15. jackscrap says:

    Wolfgang has certainly aged gracefully, loved learning about your early days.

  16. traceyjj says:

    Now that is one fabulous sentimental journey! Thanks for sharing it with us

  17. Instructions To Use Clash Of Clans Secrets Review Check out clash of clans hack my Clash Of Clans Cheats just for you.
    Now clash of clans hack that you have been searching for
    free Clash of Clans game. Start with a hypothesis — if I do” A”,
    it will be fun for you indeed. Some databases will identify the journal title as source.
    This week, I’m going to waste another one.

  18. It also conjured images of smoky and crowded
    halls where women had their first game of which you are downloading a lot of
    gamers. In SOF2, the Android mobile gaming mobile phone, the LG Optimus 3D are
    capable of play. When you take a further 11 million tested the free trial version games, friends staying sitting at a
    fast paced lifestyle, everybody to enjoy your day
    exciting.

Leave a Reply

