F is for Fine Arts

F is for Fine Arts

The New Britain Museum of American Art is a hidden jewel. It’s tucked away in the ageing industrial city of New Britain and it is worth hours upon hors of exploration. For the past few months, it has been host to an exhibit of the art of Maurice Sendak, writers/illustrator of many classic children’s books, especially “Where the Wild Things Are.” I read that so many times to my children that I know it by heart. John & I are members of the museum, so we pop up there often on a Sunday afternoon to browse. This past Sunday, I was able to snap a man who was sketching from one of the paintings on the wall. A fisheye lens captures the whole gallery, including the door into the Sendak exhibit. The man on the left studying the artwork is John.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to F is for Fine Arts

  1. danudin says:

    Ain’t nice to go fisheye on the fine art.

  2. Cathy says:

    From the outside looking in ,it gives another dimension to this image. Looks like a nice museum.

  3. John & Lois says:

    I like the way the fisheye pulls my eye into the scene.

  4. Andy says:

    One of those local places I need to go to (like the Mark Twain House)…

  5. regularman says:

    Great lens choice Bobbie.

  6. PC PHOTO says:

    F is also for FABULOUS I like how you s-t-r-e-c-h-e-d the imagination for this one!!!!!!

  7. traceyjj says:

    Love the fisheye view of this

  8. Tammy says:

    A fun use of the fisheye….love your results!

  9. Mike says:

    I agree with J+L that fish-eye is awesome!

  10. KarenAnn says:

    I’m in agreement…the fisheye is super for this image. Looks like a great place to while away some hours during this long long winter. Sendak is one of my favorites especially his “Little Bear” series.

Leave a Reply

